The Rainbow Girl – Amisha Mehta

“I ALWAYS FELT THAT WHEN I PAINT WITH MY HANDS, NAILS AND FINGRES, I FEEL MY SOUL DIRECTLY COMMUNICATING WITH THE CANVAS!” Says Amisha Mehta to Priyanka Singhal

How much time did you spend at the advertising agency? And what was your learning’s while working in such an environment?

Though the experience of working in the advertising agency was rich but I realized that until and unless one is at the top, one does not have the full creative freedom; things don’t happen the way they should. There was a lot of manipulation at the lower levels of workings, which I was not ready for. Besides this the working hours became a bit demanding after my marriage, so I finally decided to take a step ahead.My association with advertising agency dates back to 25-27 years back when I joined the top notch advertising agency for a period of 2 years. I worked in the capacity of a visualization artist.

Tell us more about your tryst with color therapy.

Even after my stint at the advertising agency, I continued my tryst with art and painting. I have always painted with my hand rather using any brushes or any other instrument. The main reason behind this has been the freedom of self expression. I always felt that when I paint with my hands, nails and fingers, I feel my soul directly communicating with the canvas. And there are no aliases, there are no alibis. I have been a regular at Kala Ghoda festival for some time..

In the beginning healing powers of my paintings were purely incidental. But then I researched and read a lot about the therapy and now incorporate all the angles in the paintings to have therapeutic powers. Color therapy officially started say around 6-7 years back, when some of my painting admirers mentioned about the healing powers of my paintings. Working on the same, I came across a research which explained color therapy and its healing powers. And since then, I am here helping out people by my color therapy.

I am now also adding a new line that is related to the colors and the furniture; I call them as Art Furniture Installations.

I was reading through your interview somewhere and it appeared that you are very content with your life. How has this calmness, this tranquility come?

This tranquility has come from my passion of being connected to art and colors. My passion & attachment to colors, along with the experience, have built me stronger and have taught me to resolve any situation with peace and calmness. On top of it, my experience teaching the children at Tata Memorial Hospital helped me immensely in my journey to myself.

There are many people who long for this tranquility; can this be achieved through color therapy?

Color Therapy works at 2 levels of our mind – conscious and sub-conscious. At conscious level, it soothes mind, relaxes the person, and puts him at ease whereas at sub-conscious level it brings out the inner rhythm. It connects at deep level and brings out the feelings and emotions at sub-conscious level to the forefront which have drained them for years. And this in turn provides them

tranquility which all of us long for. So, with the help of color therapy, anyone can gain the confidence, peace of mind and this tranquility for life.  🙂

Tell us more about Color Dance and how does it work?

Color Dance, as most of the people must not be aware of this, is an amalgamation of color, art and music. This is not just for fun, but is a special program which asks people to use colors to paint with the backdrop of soothing music. Since both color and music have therapeutic powers, Color Dance combines best of both the worlds.

Tell us more about the person Amisha Mehta.

I have been born & brought up in Bombay. Having the interest in art and colors since my childhood, I went to Nirmala Niketan Polytechnic to study art for my interest. It all started when I went and taught children for the elementary and advanced art exams. Joined an advertisement agency as it was the field of creativity and art, but then realized that I am not a product for the same. Turning into a full time artist and color therapist made me meet my inner self.

Though you are trained in Sitar and Classical dance but how did the concept of Colour Dance struck you? Also please take me through a typical class at your studio .

My training in Sitar has helped me to understand the vibrations of music at a deep level as sitar is a classical instrument and requires a lot of study about the ‘swaras’ and notes. Always being connected to music as an essential part of my routine and thus  always had it as a part of my art classes too, and since my music would be mainly instrumental or new-age music by default, and gradually realized that certain music worked on the emotional part of the brain, which made the kids create pure graffiti art. Thus, gradually over a short period children started improving in their attitudes towards life, studies, relations etc. Basically they started to connect with their inner selves…of course the process was tough and lot of mood swings existed, but I guess with a professional to monitor, it was quite worthy the experience for them too. The parents were actually thrilled with the change.

On the contrary, classical dance had nothing to do over here, the name COLOURDANCE, was formed as this was a combination of Art and Music Therapy, and the healing was done through Colours, so Colourdance is all about your inner colours which come out live on paper and canvas. At a colour therapy class, there is no escape from what you are, as the music helps you to relieve your stress and you pick the colours you connect with while thinking of your problem. Based on this and observation, I suggest the colours that are required for a person’s healing if required for professional healing sessions. I also use aromas as they work very positively for the souls. Thus, Colourdance is all about you inner self coming out like a mirror and then its upto you how you want to shape your future, “cause for me your past does not matter, be positive in the present and see your future change…”

I REMEMBER A CHILD WHO WAS SUFFERING FROM CONVULSIONS & SINCE THIS COLOR THERAPY WITH HER, CONVULSIONS CAME TO A HALT AND SHE IS LIVING HAPPILY WITH HER FAMILY”

Tell us more about your association with children at Tata Memorial Hospital.

Well I am happy that I got the opportunity to associate myself with the Tata Memorial Hospital. In fact, by the process of teaching them, I in-turn leant a lot for myself. I have seen many children who have calmed down with the help of color therapy and also some cases of epilepsy disappearing and headaches flying away. I remember a child who was suffering from convulsions and since this color therapy with her, her convulsions have come to a halt and she is happily living with her family. 🙂

Though we know that you don’t believe too much in future planning, but we would love to know if you have plans to expand your healing power to other cities for the benefits of others.

In 2007, I had organized an event in Delhi at Hauz Khas. But have been occupied since then at my studio in Mumbai. I am open to new opportunities and looking forward for the same may be to start with metro cities. 🙂

To know more about the Color Queen,  follow her website http://amishamehta.net/

Thanks for a comment :)

